Paper Anatomy by Lisa Nilsson

anatomy-4

American artist Lisa Nilsson creates anatomical cross sections of the human body using rolled strips of paper, a technique known as quilling or paper filigree. Quilling is a time consuming process in which paper is wound tightly into small rolls of different colors and then positioned to become works of art.  Nilsson is able to choose exactly the right material to imitate the organic structures making each piece appear as real cross-sections of humans and animals.Quilled-Paper-Anatomy-1

The construction is done with  Japanese paper and the gilded edges of old books. Quilling was first practiced by Renaissance nuns and monks who made artistic use of the gilded edges of worn out bibles, and later by 18th century ladies who made artistic use of lots of free time.QUILLL

http://lisanilssonart.com/section/282102_Tissue_Series.html

3 thoughts on “Paper Anatomy by Lisa Nilsson

  1. Elephant says:

    I learned something new. I have seen something like this technique, but I did not know it had a name! Very beautiful. Quilling.
    Thank you,
    Elephant

  2. Elephant says:

    You know, I bought some greeting cards in May – they are from China and they have quilling on them. I just googled quilling – wow it is big, but not with the beauty of these works! Quilling, quilling all around and I didn’t know what it was – love when that happens
    HiHo
    Elephant

  3. vsperry says:

    I just found some quilling pieces I made in high school. It’s a lot of fun!

Leave a comment